Shaykh Abdul Kerim al-Kibrisi Sohbet – March 2009

March 15, 2009 § 4 Comments

Shaykh Abdul Kerim al-Kibrisi Sohbet gives sohbet at the Osmanli Naksi-i’bendi Dergah for General Zikr on the Holy Month of Rabi’Awwal 1430 (March 2009). (Sydney Center , NY)

“Shaykh Effendi is saying people are learning about Islam through the internet in Firawnic rooms. They discuss fatwas but they don’t know the basics of the religion. Muslims have left the way of the Prophets. Those that say that Allah is enough for them or the Quran is enough for them have cut the Shahadat. The nightmare of Shaitan is to see a man with a turban and beard, with Prophet’s (صلي الله عليه و سلم) sunnat. This nightmare is the same of most of todays Islamic leaders. We must follow those who are following the Prophet’s (صلي الله عليه و سلم) lifestyle.” -Yursil

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Shaykh Abdul Kerim al-Kibrisi Sohbet – March 2009

  • Kay says:

    Salaam 3alaikum,

    I’ll try to give you some insight as to why this may be happening.

    I am a revert to Islam. After I finished reading the Qur’an, it felt very precious to me because of the enlightening experience I had while reading it. I knew about the Hadiths, but was extremely suspicious of them. The Qur’an had such care in how it was transmitted and written down, while from what I understood at the time, the Hadiths seemed “sloppy” (for lack of a better word) in comparison. Many reverts initially feel suspicious towards other written works because they don’t want it to distort the beauty they found in the Qur’an, and this is done out of ignorance, not because they want to reject the way of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), and rarely do they have a knowledgeable person guiding them.

    I still haven’t dappled with the Hadiths in depth yet because I am still focusing on the Qur’an, but my attitude towards them has changed substantially. I am planning on taking an online course on Hadiths in the future, inshallah, to gain more insight into the Sunnah of our Prophet (PBUH).

    Wa alaikum is-salaam
    Kay

  • Saifuddin says:

    BismillaharRahmanirRahim

    wa alaykum selam Kay. You wrote,

    “I’ll try to give you some insight as to why this may be happening.”

    Why what is happening? Explain.

  • Kay says:

    Salaam 3alaikum,

    I was just commenting on the quote; maybe I interpreted it wrong???

    “Those that say that Allah is enough for them or the Quran is enough for them have cut the Shahadat.”

    I thought this was a reference to “Qur’an only Muslims” who reject the Hadith. I was trying to explain why some revert/convert Muslims may initially reject the Hadiths, which contains information about the Sunnah of the Prophet (PBUH), and say they will follow the Qur’an only.

    Peace,
    Kay

  • Saifuddin says:

    BismillaharRahmanirRahim

    wa alaykum selam

    Ah OK, now I understand Kay.

    “Many reverts initially feel suspicious towards other written works because they don’t want it to distort the beauty they found in the Qur’an, and this is done out of ignorance, not because they want to reject the way of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)…”

    Perhaps this is true. I too am a revert but my experience is not exactly this way. When I became a Muslim it was immediate and I was very young. It was by my own choice and I was completely ignorant of the ways, customs and more basic lessons. All I understood of Islam was the Shahadat and that was enough for me.

    I never really felt this way or that way about the recorded hadith of the Holy Prophet (may Peace and Blessings be upon him). I accepted them all yet, practiced only what I felt I understood. Until I met Seyh Efendi.

    “[R]arely do [reverts] have a knowledgeable person guiding them.”

    My shaykh was the missing piece to this religion, for me. My intention was good but progress was minimal without him. And that is the purpose of this blog. To help Muslims, revert and born Muslims alike to understand that their religion is empty unless they are holding onto someone, following someone on the Right Way.

    -Saifuddin

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shaykh Abdul Kerim al-Kibrisi Sohbet – March 2009 at SEYFETTİN.

meta

