A Muslim Sitcom: Little Mosque on the Prairie

January 12, 2007 § 14 Comments

§ 14 Responses to A Muslim Sitcom: Little Mosque on the Prairie

  • gess says:

    Hmmm, I don’t know what to say. Do we need a sitcom to “humanize” the Muslims?

  • Dr. X. says:

    “Hmmm, I don’t know what to say. Do we need a sitcom to ‘humanize’ the Muslims?”

    The suggestion that any human beings need to be ‘humanized’ creates some ambivalence about this for me. But judging from what I often encounter among other Americans (who will not see this program unless they watch it on the internet), there is some need to see Muslim ‘humanity.’ The MSM presentation of Muslims here in the U.S. is dominated by a nasty crowd that is comfortable portraying Muslims as inclined toward violence and terrorism.

    I would not pretend to know the range of significant effects this program might have on viewers, if any. I’m reserving judgment and would be curious to hear what others think.

  • Abby says:

    This is very similar to those Indian Sitcoms produced in the UK and I know this would be appreciated there. Too much misinformation, hate and fear has been sowed in this country for the sitcom to be appreciated here.

  • Millie says:

    Watched Little Mosque on the Prairie last night and thought it was great. Apparently, there is a big need to “humanise the Muslims” especially in the West. It is not the need to air out dirty laundry or problems but rather to show that we are human beings despite all that the public sees on Fox news and the 700 club. I think, or rather I hope, that the show will address the issues of suspicion, fear, and hatred that are so pervasive in our society towards us and in a humorous way show the senselessness of such feelings. It also serves to highlight some of the rifts and differences within our community that needs to be addressed and dealt with.

  • Hakim says:

    “Too much misinformation, hate and fear has been sowed in this country for the sitcom to be appreciated here.”

    Perhaps, but if NBC or ABC saw enough dollar signs behind a project like this… for example creating the Muslim Cosby show, then perhaps its not far from becoming a reality in the states.

    “I think, or rather I hope, that the show will address the issues of suspicion, fear, and hatred that are so pervasive in our society towards us and in a humorous way show the senselessness of such feelings.”

    Its seems to be doing just that… with a little dirty laundry for entertainment purposes.

  • Jalilah says:

    “Too much misinformation, hate and fear has been sowed in this country for the sitcom to be appreciated here.”

    And do we really expect this show to dispell the myths or perpetrate them even further. Islam is beautiful in it’s purest essense. Haqq for sure. Not Hollywood’s waterdowned interpretation of it. When will people of color learn that assimilation does not breed accpetance.

  • Hakim says:

    “When will people of color learn that assimilation does not breed accpetance.”

    The episode shown above actually addresses this topic, but perhaps that is the reason you are saying?

    I agree, a centuries old fear of Islam will not vanish into thin-air, but we do not need to fan the flame by reinforcing the stereotypes being exclusivists. Nor do we know the possible result of a peaceful civil rights campaign for Muslims in the West.

  • DrM says:

    I didn’t care for this show, it just seemed a little too forced. The shaky premise the producers operated on seemed to be that,

    “Muslims don’t have any fun in their lives so lets make a comedy show about them.”

    Thats awfully hubristic and exchanging one set of stereotypes for another(from angry militants to goofy incompetants). I hope this show gets better with future episodes.

  • Hakim says:

    “from angry militants to goofy incompetants”

    I agree, I thought about this long and hard after I saw the show and wondered if I had the choice what would I prefer? A sitcom or drama made for TV? I’m still thinking about it. Though I do believe the “shaky” premise might just be the result of a CBC production and not the fact that it is about Muslims.

  • abdursalaam says:

    Personally, I liked it. Overall, I believe the intent of the show is at the very least noble, and is a good step in the right direction from Islamic relations in the West. Insha’Allah we will get something similar here in America. We just have to push for it, like Bridges TV.

  • Amad says:

    There are several more comments here…
    On LotaEnterprises blog. The overwhelming comments are unfavorable, and for a good reason.

  • DrM says:

    The second episode is pretty lame, devolving into more incompetance. I remember trying BridgesTV a while back, it was a joke and couldn’t hold a candle to Britain’s IslamChannel, which I hear is coming to the US.

  • Hakim says:

    “The second episode is pretty lame, devolving into more incompetance.”

    I have to agree with Doc. After the second episode, my criticisms have firmed up a bit, it appears that the range of character they are portraying Muslims in is either as minions, monsters or just plain mindless! I’m not thrilled about this show thus far.

  • André says:

    I loved this show, especially since I do not know that many Muslims and I therefore find it somewhat of a mystery how to act and speak aporpriatly around them, when I first am faced with one. To me, this show showed the lighter side of intercultural life, and as long as other Muslims feel that this is not stepping to far across a line, this works for me too as both entertainment and enlightment. I am pleased to see that also Muslims, who have left comments here, seem to be positive towards such shows. On a whole, this show to me just blends in with the rest of the sitcoms that have enriched my life throughout.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Muslim Sitcom: Little Mosque on the Prairie at SEYFETTİN.

meta

