An Announcement

December 9, 2006 § 6 Comments

Over the past week I have been working diligently to redirect the philosophical impetus of Wa Salaam. As a result there have been some cosmetic changes to Wa Salaam but more importantly there has been a shift in the theoretical process of this blog. I pray that you find it beneficial to the overall blogging experience.

In addition, I would like to encourage readers to comment more as this blog is and should be a forum and meeting place for thoughts, writing and opinions concerning the Humanities (see categories on the sidebar). If you have any thoughts on any of these categories that you would like to publish on this blog, feel free to contact me by email (hakim.abdullah19@gmail.com).

Lastly, the fourth edition of the Carnival of Islam in the West has been published. It is being featured on the Kashmiri Nomad’s blog entitled, Islam and the West: Opinions of a 21st Century Kashmiri Nomad. I would like to once again thank all of you who participated in the carnival. The next issue will be the first of 2007 C.E., which I will host here on Wa Salaam for the first time ever. I am looking forward to it, if you would like to submit a post, click here or if you would like to host a subsequent edition email me with your request.

wasalaam

§ 6 Responses to An Announcement

  • gess says:

    As’Salamu Aleikum Brother,

    Would you elaborate what you mean by:
    “redirect the philosophical impetus of Wa Salaam. As a result there have been some cosmetic changes to Wa Salaam but more importantly there has been a shift in the theoretical process of this blog. I pray that you find it beneficial to the overall blogging experience.”?

    Another thing I want to ask is, what purpose does it serve to put that picture and humiliate Allah’s (swt) slave?
    Allah(swt) Says in the Noble Qur’an
    95:4

    Your sister

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    wa ‘alaikum as-salaam

    “Would you elaborate what you mean by:
    “redirect the philosophical impetus of Wa Salaam. As a result there have been some cosmetic changes to Wa Salaam but more importantly there has been a shift in the theoretical process of this blog. I pray that you find it beneficial to the overall blogging experience.”?”

    Sure, it means that there has been a shift in the way and design which I will make investigations into things. The premise from which an article will be posited will not only be interesting, Islamic, newsworthy and so on, but organized and emphasized by the Humanities and driven by Humanist thought.

    If you were a reader in the past you would have noticed the articles were often designed to discuss or expose Islamic values. That was the point of Wa Salaam up until now. To be a platform for cross-cultural discussions on everything Islamic. But I found that my target audience were less interested in Islam and more interested in Muslims. Therefore, I came to the obvious conclusion that not only do I have biases and prejudices but my readers have biases and prejudices as well. This realization prompted contemplation into an area where these biases meet. I concluded that they meet in the mere fact that we are all Human, thus the switch.

    “what purpose does it serve to put that picture and humiliate Allah’s (swt) slave?”

    The photograph was shared by a group of Sudanese bloggers and I expressed interest in showing my readers the degree of suffering that is going on right now, while there is so much wealth and excess. The message is clear, people need our help, in the sidebar of wa salaam there are a number of organizations to offer some financial help and other things such as backpacks with much needed school supplies.

    However, because of you opposition I have removed the photo. The photo is not mean to humiliate but a call for help.

    wasalaam

  • Dont Bother says:

    I believe this is a good change of direction, Abu Sahajj. However in the interests of maintaining standards and keeping dialogue civil, comment moderation is necessary. I enjoy a spirited discussion as much as the next guy but feel that many a discussion ends up getting hijacked by trolls who have no interest in the central topic of discussion.
    I’ve been following the comments on the “flying while Muslim” posts, and they are out of control. I think you ought to step in and set the troublemakers straight.

  • Yusuf Smith says:

    As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    I personally use comment moderation for exactly the reason “Dont Bother” suggested: because I post something, a hostile non-Muslim troll posts a stupid and bigoted response, and everyone else gets down to refuting the stupid comment and forgets what I posted. There is also one particular Muslim regular who responds to the trolls with insults, and occasional attempts to divert the discussion onto the “question of A’isha (radhi Allahu ‘anhaa)”, which I always censor.

    I use Movable Type, and I use the TypeKey system to provide a means of allowing people to avoid moderation – but if they misbehave, I can ban their IDs and force them back to the moderation route. However, a lot of the Muslim participants don’t bother getting TypeKey IDs for some reason, which is annoying as this means that less discussion gets done.

  • gess says:

    As’salamu Aleikum,

    I do recommend moderation to avoid “trols”.

    And I do like your blog 🙂

  • […] Abu Sahajj shares An Announcement posted at Hakim Abdullah. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Announcement at SEYFETTİN.

meta

