Uninsured in America

November 4, 2006 § 8 Comments

I was recently watching CNN and during the morning edition there was a brief segment on insurance… rather uninsured Americans. During the segment a CNN reporter noted that,

“41% of middle-class Americans are uninsured”. (CNN)

That number is remarkable! I work in healthcare and I see the direct impact that the American healthcare system has on its citizens. For example, dental care is one of the most prevalent concerns among the uninsured. A fact that has been discussed, researched and published in The New Yorker ,

“Several years ago, two Harvard researchers, Susan Starr Sered and Rushika Fernandopulle, set out to interview people without health-care coverage for a book they were writing, “Uninsured in America.” They talked to as many kinds of people as they could find, collecting stories of untreated depression and struggling single mothers and chronically injured laborers—and the most common complaint they heard was about teeth.” (M. Gladwell, The New Yorker)

One of the reasons I am posting this article is to voice my opinion that healthcare and the uninsured should be one of the major points of debate during this up and coming Presidential Election however experts disagree as noted byHavard University Public Health Professor and Kaiser Family Foundation President,

“Although Americans respond in polls that they are worried about the state of health care in the U.S. today, and especially about the rising cost of their own health insurance, these concerns are not breaking through as a top voting issue in the mid-term election” (R. Blendon, Rc.D; D. Altman, Ph.D)

My guess is that the War overshadows all of the issues concerning Americans today and rightly so. Its time to make our way out of Iraq and concentrate our financial efforts and contributions to the development of communities and secure families, not the destruction of them abroad.

§ 8 Responses to Uninsured in America

  • DrM says:

    Cmon, who wants to talk about health care? Lets argue and create a sensation over veils etc then talk about real issues………

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “Cmon, who wants to talk about health care? Lets argue and create a sensation over veils etc then talk about real issues………”

    SubhanaAllah! What was I thinking… teeth falling out of a persons mouth is so trivial compared to the latest news like Haggard’s illicit affair… I’ll get started on that post right away. Thanks for the warning brother… jazakallahu kheir! 🙂

  • I lived in lots of countries and this is the first country I have ever lived in in which I actually have to agonize over whether I can afford to go to the doctor or dentist.

    This country’s health care system is beyond screwed up.

  • And, I have been having pain in my bottom tooth because the gum seems to have receded to the point you can almost see the root. But I don’t wnat to go to the dentist as I don’t have insurance (thank God I got the medicaid type thing here in Oregon for my two kids – but adults do not qualify). I keep thinking “wait until I find a job and get insured”. Should this be a struggle? It is like the “food or heat?” quandary we hear about every winter. That these quandaries exist is not civilized.

  • R. Carrillo says:

    In the past 30 years, the costs of healthcare have soared in the United States. Due to rapidly escalating healthcare costs, Americans in ever increasing numbers have begun to search for alternatives that could reduce their personal out-of-pocket medical expenses. In the last few years, hundreds of thousands of Americans have chosen to become Medical Tourists.

    Cost of medical and surgical procedures in Mexico is very low compared to what is paid in the United States. In most cases, the savings from their medical treatment can give people extra money for vacation. Indeed, a patient and his/her family can take a luxury vacation in a Mexican resort and pay for the trip with the savings they receive on getting their procedures in Mexico. Medical Tourism in the city of Guadalajara can certainly be a win-win proposition. While taking care of health needs at big discounts, shopping sprees, sight-seeing, cultural pursuits, and trips to nearby beaches and spas can all be arranged around a medical appointment schedule.

    For more information contact http://www.surgicalcareinternational.com

  • Hakim says:

    “Indeed, a patient and his/her family can take a luxury vacation in a Mexican resort and pay for the trip with the savings they receive on getting their procedures in Mexico.”

    I’m not sure how serious you are about U.S. citizens going to Mexico for medical procedures but, what is there to say about the quality of medicine in Mexico. For example in Guadalajara, what are the rates for “wrong-side surgeries” and nosocomial infections or better yet SSIs following surgical procedures?

  • Jalilah says:

    I work for a health insurance company and my one of my primary functions of course is to add to the company’s bottom line. I sit in meetings all day strategizing on ways to increase revenues with new products that are soley designed to “collect premiums and reduce claim payments”. Sometimes I feel like that is our mission statement. Even as an employee, my own health insurance premiums have increased by 50% in just 2 years yet, our stock prices continue to rise and put multi-million dollar bonuses into Senior Managements pockets. I have even delayed visits to the physician so that I could reduce my out of pocket expenses once the new year kicks in.

    Moral dillemma at times for me, but I agree it’s a topic worth throwing weight behind in the upcoming elections.

  • Peter says:

    I had to insure all my children as well

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Uninsured in America at SEYFETTİN.

meta

