My Favorite Song

October 25, 2006 § 11 Comments

[grouper=mtg/mtgPlayer.swf?gvars=vurl~http%3a%2f%2fgrouper.com%2frss%2fflv.ashx%3fid%3d1482798_rf%7e971780_vfver~8_ap~1_extid~-1;321;265]

§ 11 Responses to My Favorite Song

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    The funny thing is that listening to this nashid while walking through New York City gave me a sense of the same Utopic presence the video conveys months before I ever saw the video. Music has such a universal influence on the psyche… hasbi Allahu ta ‘ala, amin

  • Nuri says:

    hmmm…. but I thought music was haram to you !! 🙂

  • It’s one of my favorites too. Eid Mubarak.

  • Salam
    I also liked the one about the Prophet.

    My only gripe with Sami Yusef is that the video is so focused on him. I prefer the older anashid like the 99 names video that was made by abdel halim Hafez in which you just see miracles of nature and time lapse photography and stuff like that rather than the singer looking pious.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “but I thought music was haram to you !! :-)”

    No, how would you know that anyway we have never discussed it. You must be thinking of someone else.

  • Nuri says:

    Ok… by “you” I meant muslims. It was just a silly joke, really.

  • Abdur Rahman says:

    Salaams,

    I love this song/nasheed (al hamdu lillah). I especially like it because it uses 4 different languages. This is because it shows the cultural diversity of Muslims: hey, English is a Muslim language too (it’s my first language), hurray!!

    Abdur Rahman

  • M. Shahin says:

    I love this song also. I like almost every song of Sami Yusuf’s. Mashallah, he has been blessed and I think he is making dawa through his music.

  • Dirty Butter says:

    My DH and I were wondering about this very subject just the other day, which is odd, because I overlooked this post when it was new.

    Obviously this is music of a religious nature, but here’s the question. Is there any music used in the actual worship at a mosque or at any other holy place? Not all Christians use music in their worship of God, but I can’t imagine not doing so.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “Is there any music used in the actual worship at a mosque or at any other holy place?”

    I have never experienced music in a masjid (mosque) however in certain taruqa as-sawwuf such as al-Chishtiyya (Sufi Traditions) music is a very big part of their practice. However, traditionally no… besides who needs music when you have this.

  • Dirty Butter says:

    So, much like the Jewish tradition, the scripture is sung?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favorite Song at SEYFETTİN.

meta

