A Veiled America

October 24, 2006 § 51 Comments

american veil

What does this photograph evoke in you?

(An experiment in “Free” writing)

§ 51 Responses to A Veiled America

  • Mir Nazim says:

    I this a american women with feelings for her nation, whats wrong in this.

    But if this is a sceptism of some american artist then let me tell them. Islam is a Tornado, it won’t stop. Inshallah , one day whole world will accept Islam is the best way of life.

  • storbakken says:

    It’s strangely beautiful. It is patriotic yet religious, which often makes me feel ill but not this time. I do believe in the separation of church and state (or mosque, or synagogue) but artistically it works. Deep, questioning eyes, yet everything else is veiled by the flag. Wants to taste, wants to smell, wants to hear, but can only see. Religion must remove the veil and breathe life. The box must be taken off the flame.

  • zalame says:

    The hinted clash does not exist. There’s no necessary contradiction between being an American patriot and being a Muslim.
    (BTW, I don’t think the colorful flag passes as an Islamic headscarf).

    That said, her questioning eyes are very expressive. I liked that.

  • OmarG says:

    I think if it was just her, it would be cool. But, it was actually the heading for the posting which made me think it conveys some people’s wishes to make America a niqabi nation…that is to say, it wierded me out a little…but only with the heading, eh.

  • OmarG says:

    “Inshallah , one day whole world will accept Islam is the best way of life”

    …as Mir said. I would love if people end up beleiving in God and Muhammad as his messenger. What I wouldn’t accept is the loss of our cultures by having what pass as contemporary Muslim cultures submerging them. I like alot of what makes France French, Germany German, Senegal Senegalese (or Wolof to be more accurate.) and so on. I get the distinct impression that many people equate the spread of Islam with two things: the spread of thier culture and the spread of thier own power. Niether is acceptable to me. I can only take comfort that historically, Islamizing nations and ethnicities often retained much of thier what made them distinctive and the monolith of “Islamic” culture is more myth than reality. But, people who advocate monolithic authortarian cultures and pass them off as Islamic still disturb me.

  • Muslim Apple says:

    Nothing much but it seems a bit pretentious. I used it although I didn’t want to purchase it on a post about niqab because I couldn’t find the picture that I really wanted to use that was of an american flag niqaabi actually wearing proper niqab. I had deleted it sometime ago from my computer because I thought I had no use for it.

    This woman does not strike me as being Muslim or as being a person who takes covering seriously. I thought about using an actual picture of a niqaabi (covered of course) but I couldn’t find one that satisfied me, I didn’t want to offend anyone, and a lot of the niqabi pictures highlighted or accentuated the beauty of the eyes which was not the point of my post.

  • DrM says:

    Too flashy for me. I see the jingoistic idiot neocon(omarg) who couldnt land a date with an Arab is trolling and trying to tie this picture to his own white cultural paranoia.

  • me2 says:

    Assalamu Alikum
    Eid Mubarak for you & your family & the ones you love
    If I have to tell you my openion, I guess I’ll tell you that I don’t like it
    from my point of view the USA as it’s simplfied in the government is taking that cover off, not putting it on!!!
    This pic looks like a joke not a hope

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “But, it was actually the heading for the posting which made me think it conveys some people’s wishes to make America a niqabi nation…”

    Actually Omar… your analysis, although interesting, lacks real insight into my “creative genius”. The title implies something a bit more provacative as it relates to the photograph… “A Veiled America” in terms of symbolism means that both the woman and the niqab are symbols.

    For me the woman represents America or Americans. And as it is she/America is looking up toward the heavens as if asking God to show her the way. And while America is one of the most God fearing countries in the world it has yet to gain a basic understanding of Islam.

    This barrier between God fearing Americans is represented as the American flag in the photograph. The flag has been used as a niqab for America. The flag represents all of the socio-political and cultural “stuff” that exists between mainstream America and Islam as a desirable path to God.

    You see I am of the opinion that Islam is as Haroon (Aaron) has suggested… having and eating cake. For those who hold Jesus in great regard, Islam allows them to do so with out raising the noble Prophet to the status of a God. And while this is in the best interest of people… because of the “scary” associations with Islam this reality remains hidden.

    What also remains hidden to Americans are the core beliefs of Islam. What we call ‘aqidah. Islam’s core beliefs are the following:

    1. Belief in God
    2. Belief in the Angels
    3. Belief in the Revelations of God
    4. Belief in the Messengers of God
    5. Belief in the Afterlife
    6. Belief in Destiny (Qadr), its good and bad

    Honestly… I think that there are two great misconceptions about Islam which American people need to iron out. Firstly, an understanding of Muhammad, not as a rival to Jesus. In fact Jesus is one of the most mentioned Prophets in the Qur’an, mentioned even more than Muhammad himself. And the second is an understanding why the use of Arabic is required. The language barrier scares people or so I’ve been told. However, there is a real reason that Arabic is the only way to make the daily prayer and the reason is simple. Because that is exactly the way the prophet did it, the way he was revealed to do it. As for other traditions here in the Americas and other Western countries you are left to decipher traditions through third and fourth or even fifth generation translations of notes about the source. One cannot but assume that much is lost in translation.

    So Omar this is more or less what is meant in the title, “A Veiled America”. And for those God fearing Americans that would like to know more about Islam but have not been able to successfully find a palatable way, it might be interesting to see someone, an American who was “Muslim for 30 Days“.

  • Dirty Butter says:

    For me, I see a look of longing, as if she hopes America will accept her for who she is, covering and all. It is not, however, an appropriate use of the American flag. Not that very many people pay attention to the proper use of the flag any more. You see clothes made to look like the flag all the time now, which is against proper flag etiquette.

  • You know what is wrong with these kinds of pictures? The woman is a symbol. Why are we always supposed to be symbolziing something? Everyone tells us that our clothes symbolize this or that or that we ourselves symbolize this or that.

    Why are we not subjects rather than objects? Why can’t we look at this and see a woman who feels like wearing a red-white-and-blue piece of cloth and NOTHING else? Why must people always be trying to define females as some symbol or other?

    I am soooooooo tired of it. Leave us alone already.

  • sheila says:

    Have to agree with Dirty Butter.

  • thabet says:

    Well said Anna. Took the letters off my fingertips.

    wasalam

  • OmarG says:

    Salam Anna, women are great to look at in pictures; no one seems to want to see hairy men doing the same thing, even women it seems 😉

    Abu Sahajj, quite good! I think you see it as a “Reverse Statue of Liberty”. BYW, where did you get the picture from? I’d like to print it out on some glossy paper at high res and frame it so people see it when they enter my house…he,he.

    As for the TV show, Muslim for 30 Days… I watched it on its premiere night and was flabbergasted by how well done it was. I felt really good for the guy and think his host family was excellent in not trying to play to the stereotypes of nutcase “Muzzies”…except for her husband who got into an argument about suicide bombings while another Muslim chided him for it. As usual, the sisters kept it sensible and it was the guys who seem to do quite well at looking steretypical.

  • Nuri says:

    Dirty Butter, why would that be an inappropriate use of the American flag?? She’s not doing anything pffensive.

  • Nuri says:

    Dirty Butter, why would that be an inappropriate use of the American flag?? She’s not doing anything offensive.

  • Muslim Apple says:

    There are very specific rules governing the use and display of the American flag and at what hours it can be displayed, how to fold it, how to dispose of a worn out flag, etc. and this sort of thing (whatever it is she is actually doing) does not conform to those guidelines. It’s sort of like the etiquettes of handling the Quran.

  • samaha says:

    I am very particular about the way the flag is used myself and adhere to flag etiquette.

    Muslim Apple – excellent explanation and comparing Quran etiquette.

    Okay, but anyway, I will give an opinion ont the matter. While it is no secret that I am not a fan of the veil, considering that my blog is called let my heart be my veil and I have a post titled the same, I am very particular about freedom of religion. I view that any woman who chooses to wear a veil has the right to wear it. Now, considering that here in the US we don’t have any laws (that I am aware of) banning the veil I don’t think that this photo would be veiwed by many as a statement on behalf of freedom of religion.

    So, I think that the picture may invoke a fear of Islamization of America by some.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “So, I think that the picture may invoke a fear of Islamization of America by some.”

    I agree… OmarG also made a similar point… however, I never back down from an opportunity to make da’wah, which is really the underlying reason for this blog.

    As far as the flag etiquette argument goes… what kind of Muslim compares the US flag to the Qur’an! No hard feeling but in the Rocky movies Apollo Creed wore the American flag as a hat, a vest and even boxing trunks and there was no protest, it was a big movie and everyone loved it.

    The only reason that this photograph would be controversial is because of its association to the infamous Muslim or in this case Muslima. I was born in this country… my family is for the most part American and so am I, I grew up saluting the flag and singing anthems about this country so I think I have the right to say that this flag etiquette argument is weak.

    Besides… gross nationalism in my opinion is unIslamic and should not preside over religion because that would place moral ideals in a position second-fiddle to national culture and identity.

  • samaha says:

    If I remember correctly, one is supposed to be first and foremost Muslim, then one is to be there for their country. I am American.

    My respect for the flag and flag etiquette stems from my respect for the Quran and Quran etiquette. I expect that when I loan out my Quran to a non-Muslim for that non-Muslim to treat my Quran with the same respect that I treat it with.

    I should also add that while I am Muslim and was born Muslim I don’t want to see this country become “Islamic” and the only way to make sure that it doesn’t become “Islamic” or “Christian” is to hold on to and protect the ideals that this nation was founded upon.

    I am a staunch supporter of seperation of church and state. I want freedom of speech, freedom of religion, the right to arms and I won’t do anything to put those things in jeopardy.

  • Muslim Apple says:

    I’m the kinda of Muslim that compares the ettiquettes of handling the US flag to the Quran.

    Muslims make much noise about how sacred the Quran is to them and how to respect the Quran and what not to do such as flushing it down a toilet or putting it on the shoe rack or even putting it on the floor yet many of these same Muslims would have no problem burning the flag, stomping on it, etc.

    The flag for those who wish to pass an Amendment preventing it from being burned in public demonstrations claim that it is a sacred or almost sacred symbol of the American values which they hold dear and which people have died to protect.

    Free speech is free speech and offense is offense except for hypocrites.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “I’m the kinda of Muslim that compares the ettiquettes of handling the US flag to the Quran.”

    No hard feelings please… I like you MuslimApple. It just struck a chord with me… because that flag has been the symbolic representation the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki for example… to compare that flag to the Qur’an is absurd. Those who want to make those comparison will have to find without a reasonable doubt that the Qur’an support terrorism, the killing of babies and innocents and torture of captured combatants.

    I don’t really want to get started on a serious political discussion for 1) I don’t have the time today and 2) You seem so nice, I would rather jump into hardcore debates with people like Suleyman Schwartz who says things like this about me.

    wasalaam

  • Salam
    Where did you get this picture from?

    And Muslim Apple, the flag has rules of handling, true. But the flag amendment people are a minority. In fact most Americans think the flag is a symbol of the America that is codified in the Constitution so it makes no sense to prohibit flag-burning which is an expression of the first amendment freedom of speech.

    The Quran is not a national symbol. It’s a religious text.

    Even if there were a parallel, it would be between teh Quran and the Constitution. One is a religious text the other is a national one. I have not seen anyone burning the constitution, stepping on it or flushing it down toilets at demos lately.

  • Muslim Apple says:

    No hard feelings between us, I like your blog, too.

    Excellent point Anna about the Constitution being a better analogy. And I agree that it doesn’t make constitutional sense to prohibit flag burning .

  • abdursalaam says:

    I don’t know, but I like it. But then I have a love for the controversial, but I think it symbolizes that Islam is in America always has been, and we are just as much a part of it as anyone else!

  • Dirty Butter says:

    I’m the one who pointed out that using the flag in this way violates the etiquette of flag use.

    No hard feeling but in the Rocky movies Apollo Creed wore the American flag as a hat, a vest and even boxing trunks and there was no protest, it was a big movie and everyone loved it.

    I also noted that most people don’t care about these rules of etiquette anymore. We didn’t see that movie, and that’s one of the reasons why we didn’t! My DH and I fuss every time we see the flag being used inappropriately, but we are certainly in the minority.

  • Dirty Butter, I went to a summer camp in which we did a daily flag ceremony and worked for US embassies for several years in the foregin service and I have a definite “No! Don’t do that!” attitude when I see someone maknig clothing out of flags or dragging a flag on the ground. It’s sort of internalized. So I do know what you mean.

  • M. Shahin says:

    Very thought provoking photo! Okay here is my take on it:

    The flag is her last hope and she desperately needs to know that the crimes being committed under her flag is not a part of America; it is not part of the flag nor part of her. She is an American and her flag will not be dragged down by the filth and inhumanity of men in power.

  • PatB says:

    Very thought provoking photo. Okay here is my take:

    The Flag is her primary hope for and in the people of the United States defeating the Islamofascists that attacked her country. She is an American and will not allow her Country to bow to the filth and inhumanity of those acting in the name of Jihad.

  • Dont Bother says:

    Its merging religion and state which has proven disasterous for our country. American Muslims don’t have to prove anything to anybody in my opinion.
    PatB, there is no such thing as an “Islamofascist” you ignorant douche bag. Theres far more to patriotism then wrapping oneself in a flag.

  • PatB says:

    Yes, there is such a thing today as Islamofascism and the term is now used internationally.
    The reason it has become popular is because people recognize the validity of linking these words as it decribes what they ‘feel’ and ‘sense’. I was just making a counter point to the gentleman writing above me, nothing more.
    Ignoring the use of a term because you don’t like or appreciate it’s use does not negate its validity.
    Your choice of invective leads me to believe you are an extremely tolerant and enlightened individual that listens, thinks through, and then responds to the view of others.
    I’m sorry if the term offends but it should not unless you support that which it alludes to.
    It seems that ‘Islamic guilt’ has led us to this point where moderates feel intimidated in become critical of any other Islamic organization or body and rally regardless of the inference.
    “Islamic guilt” is the fear of being ‘less’ Islamic than another even if it stills your tongue when you find something offensive. The fear comes from the powerful in Islam who will automatically group any dissenter with Zionists, Infidels, whatever and therefore never have to deal with the actual issue. I find this prevelant in the Islamic community both here overseas and in the US.

  • Dont Bother says:

    Wrong on all counts PatB. First of all I’m not a Muslim, but you are a very twisted Muslim hater. “Islamofascist” is not an international term, but a buzzword concocted by neoconservative drunks like Christopher Hitchens and often used by extremists like yourself to smear Muslims. You’ve fallen victim to your hate propaganda.
    It shows you know little about Islam or the meaning of fascism. In all honestly, the actions of the the US government today constitute what fascism truly is. Infact I would go even one step further and point to the fact that the vast majority of terrorists today are white males from the US and parts of Europe. Some of whom can even be called christo-fascists. Get back to me when you find those wmds. That should be “enlightening.”

  • mshahin says:

    Hi Pat,

    You might be interested in seeing what Juan Cole has to say about the term Islamofacism, and you can check out his site http://www.juancole.com for more.

    By the way, I’m a gentlewoman 🙂

    Peace.

    “Then there are other problems with what Bush said. He contrasted “Islamic fascism” to “democracy,” presumably a reference to the Lebanese Hizbullah.

    This point is incorrect and offensive for many reasons.

    It is a misuse of the word “Islamic.” “Islamic” has to do with the ideals and achievements of the Muslims and the Muslim religion. Thus, we speak of Islamic art. We speak of Islamic ethics.

    There can be Muslim fascists, just as there can be Christian fascists (and were, in Spain, Italy and Germany, and parts of Central and South America; the Spanish fascists and the Argentinian ones, e.g., were adopted by the United States government as close allies.)

    But there cannot be “Islamic” fascists, because the Islamic religion enshrines values that are incompatible with fascism.

    Fascism is not even a very good description of the ideology of most Muslim fundamentalists.

    Most fascism in the Middle East has been secular in character, as with Saddam Hussein’s Baath Party.

    Fascism involves extreme nationalism and most often racism. Muslim fundamentalist movements reject the nation-state as their primary loyalty and reject race as a basis for political action or social discrimination.

    Fascists exalt the state above individual rights or the rule of law. Muslim fundamentalists exalt Islamic law above the utilitarian interests of the state.

    Fascism exalts youth and a master race above the old and the “inferior” races. Muslim fundamentalists would never speak this way.

    Fascism glorifies “war as an end in itself and victory as the determinant of truth and worthiness.” Muslim fundamentalists view holy war as a ritual with precise conditions and laws governing its conduct. It is not considered an end in itself.”

  • PatB says:

    GentleWoman,
    I agree that the term fascism, in this case, is not an exact fit. I was alluding to it’s ‘gut level’ acceptance and understanding by the average individual.
    Wether Islam can underwrite Fascism, or replicate elements of fascism, is another discussion altogether.
    Muslim Fascism may be a better term but to the average person this also equates to Islamofascism.
    To the individual on the street observing the radical terrorist blogs, videos, articles etc. that use Islam (line and verse) as the vehicle underwriting their activities (making them good in Gods eyes and worthy of heaven) the ability to disassociate that which is associated by their enemy makes no sense.
    Sadly this is not just the attitude of the terrorist but many Muslims in power call on the same documents as validation for their activity.
    If I killed in the name of Christ to; spread the religion, to remove people because they defile a piece of land (a simplification), to impose a way of life and laws as defined by my religion, and this was based on a widely accepted (many key religious leaders) writings and interpretation of my scripture then I would expect something like Christofascism even though, as you state, this would not be a perfect ideological match.
    I know that seeing Islam and fascism linked is a painful thing for many but when one’s enemy continually makes the link to Islam it is hard to avoid.
    I would not take mutch time or effort arguing the term but would use that effort to change peoples minds thru accentuating the positive by confronting those that espouse these ideals.
    Christianity has had many dark periods when things were done in ‘Gods name’ that had no right or scriptual reason for being. Those things may still happen (man being what he/she is), but not underwritten in Gods name or for a specific form of Christianity.
    How does one disassociate Islam from the terrorists when they themselves have wraped the flag of Islam around their efforts similar to the lady in the picture.
    Sorry for the windy response.
    Best wishes,
    Pat

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “Wrong on all counts PatB.”

    Dont Bother and MShahin are right PatB… in fact this discussion has been on this blog before and even attracted a comment from the chief proponent of the term… the Jewish-Neocon-Convert Muslim-Sufi Pluralist-Journalist himself… the Schwartzenator… please take a look.

  • PatB says:

    Ok, so maybe ‘WahhabIslamofascism’, kind of a mouth full but Ok.

  • Pat B:

    Why don’t you stop making up stupid loaded terms and discuss ideas? There’s no need for such a stupid term.

    If you don’t like Wahhabism or Salafism or whatever, then just mention you don’t like it and explain why – you seem to be sort of capable of doing this, but the fallback on loaded Pavlovian terms designed to make other people drool with hate is NOT helping you argue.

    Equating a fundamentalist religious outlook to an extreme nationalist political outlook is beyond stupid.

    I suppose you would have called Calvinists “fascists” too? “Fascist’ is not just a term meaning “weird disturbing people who bother me.”

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “Ok, so maybe ‘WahhabIslamofascism’, kind of a mouth full but Ok.”

    This subject (Islamic Fascism and why it is incorrect) is clearly beyond the scope of what you are able to digest right now.

    Be careful not to fall into the same kind of bottleneck that Kitchener and Churchill did years ago during WWI and the Bush and Blair Administrations have done today by misunderstanding Islam and the associated cultures yet assuming that their initiatives would suffice and satisfy the the world and launch a new understanding or worldview fashioned by Western Modernity.

    Although Western Modernity has a few shining beams of light like “free trade”, “seperation of church and state” and creative innovation in science and technology there is still much to be desired particularly in terms of social development… the reason for this is because Western Modernity is actually riddled with contempt for everything non-Western, which gives rise to underlying supremist ideologies… ironically some of those have managed to surface in your comments, my advice take some time to revisit your conclusions… I have to do this all the time so you are not alone in this.

    wasalaam

  • PatB says:

    All,
    That was a cheap shot and I admit it but once the button is pushed off she goes. I appologize as that was not a professional response and was intended as a ‘dig’, sometimes I just do that (mom use to smack me for that-deservedly so).
    I believe there is some linkage between some of the verbage defining fascism and the way Islamic states practice their governing, and as there is no separation of religion and state this becomes an issue of religion. This also applies to organized terrorist organizations that publically state their enemy is the ‘West’ and what the ‘West’ stands for and their ultimate goal to be/create a Caliphate. Crazy as you or I may think that is it is their stated objective and they actively recruit members, plan and execute operations targeting our interests.
    “stringent socioeconomic controls, suppression of the opposition through terror and censorship, and typically a policy of belligerent nationalism and racism.”
    The first two elements of this sentence fit Islamic states to a “T”. It also fits some supposed secular predominately Islamic countries (Egypt).
    The last phrase does not and I find Islam is not at all racist (excepting Nation of Islam heretical sect followers).
    My point, and the opinion of many others, is that there is enough linkage in radical Islam and Islamic states to support the terminolgy as applied to those entities.
    If I were a Muslim I to would be upset with this linkage so I do understand your angst but your anger and hate evolved from this term are misplaced if directed at those that coined it and should be directed at those that defined it through deed.
    My issue with Wahhabism and the Islamic state comes from the months spent in Saudi Arabia and my personal experiences there. Not an uplifting experience though I was a guest of the Government.

    “Equating a fundamentalist religious outlook to an extreme nationalist political outlook is beyond stupid.”

    This is an interesting point.
    In a country that has no separation of religion and state, or a religion that is non secular by design how can you not link national design, politics and religion.
    There is a common saying in the mid east that “All power comes through the Mosque” and this is not an idle comment.
    Why does this concern me, I guess because I hear Ibrahim Hooper of Cair say on National TV that he would like to see Shariah as the law in the US, peacefully of course.
    In this one sentence by a man representing, supposedly, organized American Muslims tells me he would like to throw out the Constitution/Bill of rights and emulate SA?!
    This may not frighten a Muslim (maybe it does) but it does frighten many Americans.
    Ibrahim Hooper just told me that if Islam became supreme one of it’s goals would be to assume National power and impose a Political outlook on this country.
    Regardless of the impossibility (presently) of this statement it was made and I’d pay attention to anyone, any organization, any religious group that woud articulate the destruction of our founding documents. It angered me.
    I accept the condemnation of being a proponent of western development and thought, I will not appologize for that as I’m not a carrier of ‘white guilt’ that is so common today. I am not a western supremecist though by any definition.
    I’d rather have the ‘warts’ and ‘scars’ that we have here than those I’ve seen in other cultures and if immigration is any indicator so would most others.
    Best wishes

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “Regardless of the impossibility (presently) of this statement it was made and I’d pay attention to anyone, any organization, any religious group that woud articulate the destruction of our founding documents.”

    Good point, I agree and thank you for clarifying your views… they are greatly appreciated.

  • DrM says:

    D.B. I like that term, “Christofascism.” its far more descriptive of terrorism today. I wonder if Pat is blogging from Iraq or getting off on torture vids from those trailer park rejects in the military.

  • PatB says:

    DrM,
    Is that your attempt at a measured thoughtful response? I am open to alternate points of view.
    Why is it that nowadays, when one has no argument or ideas we resort to denigration?
    That is a sad, but prevalent, commentary.

  • DrM says:

    Ibrahim Hooper didn’t tell you any such thing Pat. You been smoking the funny cigarettes again I see. You’re a liar and a poor one at that. You certainly don’t seem to have a problem with armagedonist christofascist terrorists running the country and destroying the constitutional republic so your concern is a crock.
    The question isn’t if America becomes a Muslim majority nation, but when given the conversion rates. Better get used to flipper.

  • Muslims are supposed to defend sharia, which is a concept, that right now is subject to all sorts of differing interpretations, but at the root it is supposed to be justice as espoused by our religion, codified in law. We have to be for such a thing. But people who live in non Muslim countries although we try to live by sharia do not necessarily mean that we want everyone else to or that we want it to be the law of the land. Saying I am for sharia can mean a lot of things but it probably is more likely to mean that I personally try to live by it than that I as an American wish to see it replace common law as a basis for American courts. Because that is ridiculous. But that does not stop people like PatB deciding that this must be what Ibrahim Hooper or anyone else means when they make a vague statemetn that Sharia is supposed to be a good thing (in its ideal form, which does not exist on Planet Earth now).

    Come on, try thinking instead of reacting fearfully. Really, they are not the same thing.

  • […] I find nothing disturbing about this powerfully expressive piece of art. On the contrary, it evoked in me a deep sense of peace, tranquility and inquisitive curiosity. It put a wide smile on my face and stirred a billion pleasant thoughts in my head. Coexistance of the seemingly clashing and “uncoexistance-able” all wrapped up within one picture… one very magnificent picture. What do you see in it? What does it evoke in you? I’m quite sure some of you will find it rather disturbing and maybe even horrifying. Share your thoughts and sentiments in the comments section. (hat tip and thanks to: Wasalaam) […]

  • […] (hat tip and thanks to: Wasalaam) Bookmark this article:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

  • Juliana says:

    This picture is so interesting. Is shows us in the same time pain and hope. pain because of the life that these women have in their countries, and hope because of the passion they have about the west culture. Amazing!

  • […] Abu Sahajj presents A Veiled America posted at Wa Salaam. […]

  • victoria says:

    well right after 911 i had the idea of making an dress and hijab (not niqab) out of american flag material- but i decided against it for a variety of reasons- it shows a remarkable lack of consideration for the feelings of people – heres why- i was alive (a child) during the vietnam war era- and wearing the american flag as a patch across the bottom was all the rage and a signof rebellion and rejection of american society- flags were displayed everywhere one wore clothes and fag burning was the hip thing to do (also draft cards). Using an actual flag is somewhat indecorous- i would not take a turkish or pakistani or algerian flag and drape it as a scarf because some people have emotional attachments to it- and the fact that she has a niqab on doesnt really represent very many americans at all-
    i mean, a man can make a kilt out of a flag or a lungi but no one here really wears them- so who is it supposed to appeal to? Very few women wear niqab in america and the ones that do dont need convincing to cover- so it sends a meassage of LOOK AT ME and DONT LOOK AT ME!

    that doesnt make alot of sense- also since shes not spanish or african american or native or european- most people would relate more to that representation of american womanhood- it kind of proliferates the stereotypical repressed woman compounded with disrespect for the symbol of the flag-

    is kind of contrived with the eyes cast to heaven and other than giving fuel to some right wingers i cant see what its message is- its a very insular and segregated and separatist kind of message-
    now if you took some well adjusted happy mix of muslimahs in say- north african style scarf- some different styles of hijab artistically and philisophically it would project unity, power and celebration of diversity.

    its kind of forgettable but im all for freedom of expression

  • victoria says:

    i would like to interject that i in no way advocate the burning of homosexuals…

  • americanmuslim says:

    I am an American Muslim….

    American by birth, Muslim by choice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Veiled America at SEYFETTİN.

meta

