Islamic Scholars Tackle Papal Debacle

October 16, 2006 § 3 Comments

Please allow me to suggest and highly recommend a reading. Thabet of Under|Progress has recently posted a link to a letter written by the premier Islamic scholars from all 8 schools of jurisprudence in response to Pope Benedict’s controversial statements where he cited the medieval Emperor, Emanuel II Paleolegus from a debate with an “educated Persian”. The letter addresses such issues as “reason and faith”; “forced conversions”; “jihad vs. holy war” and the relationship between Islam and Christianity.

§ 3 Responses to Islamic Scholars Tackle Papal Debacle

  • samaha says:

    It is a spectacular letter. I have a link up at my blog as well and hope to do an article on one of the signatories of the letter – Reis-ul-lema Mustafa Ceric.

    It really is a shame how many people there are out there that have slammed this letter.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “I have a link up at my blog as well and hope to do an article on one of the signatories of the letter – Reis-ul-lema Mustafa Ceric.”

    That sounds great… when you do please trackback to this article, I would like for my readers to get an opportunity to view it.

    wasalaam

  • […] Earlier this month I did a post titled “Muslim scholars write letter to Pope” in which I had mentioned that I knew one of the signatories and over Wa Salaam’s there is a post where I had mentioned that I would write up a post about this Imam.  I had even started it, but decided that I had wanted to track down Dr. Ceric’s e-mail address or phone number to do an interview with him but found myself often long on the to-do’s and short on time.  It was finally over at Smart and Final Isis’s post Isis’ Guide to Sensible Islam posting in which I had found myself once again mentioning Reis-Ulema Mustafa Ceric.  I have decided that it is time to do just write this up and do the interview at another time. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Islamic Scholars Tackle Papal Debacle at SEYFETTİN.

meta

