The Whispers of My Heart

October 14, 2006 § 1 Comment

I do not recall where I was when I wrote this poem. Nor do I know what state I was in, however I must have been about 20 years old. When I was twenty years old I was living in Bedford-Stuyvesant… Brooklyn, New York for those who are unfamiliar with New York neighborhoods. This poem was proof that I was becoming a man and beginning to se beyond the things that I saw with my physical eyes. I was becoming more intuitive than the period when I wrote my first poem, “The Shadow’s Dance“:

“The whispers of my heart

Speak intelligently at times

And at others

They seem as foolish remarks

By adolescent arrogance.

Even as a man

With thoughts as a man thinketh

And desires as a man wants

It seems difficult to tame the Soul.

Discretion is not easily obtained

It dwells in the darkest Cavern of life’s jungle.

Most men do not live long enough

To witness its existence.

So men must mimic what they hear from stories

And poems such as this.

If God wills it to be…

You may search

And meet someone who has seen

And knows Love.

If you do serve them

And your compensation may be priceless.

§ One Response to The Whispers of My Heart

  • M. Shahin says:

    There is a lot of truth that dwells in this poem. “It seems difficult to tame the Soul.” Oh, it is quite difficult, indeed! I especially liked the last lines.

    Looking forward to more in the future.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Whispers of My Heart at SEYFETTİN.

meta

