I Love My Country. Does My Country Love Me?

August 11, 2006 § 8 Comments

GWB-ThumbI am an American citizen, I have lived in the United States all of my life. I have been a child in the US and matured into adulthood as a member of US. I have married, had children and raised my family here in the United States of America. I am an American by every stretch of the term. Although, I love my country, I condemn destructive forms of patriotism and nationalism that are antithetical to Social Justice and border on racism.

Americans must keep in mind that it was not even a half a century ago that this country was riddled in racism, bigotry and injustices that were rooted in skin pigmentation and ethnic origin. To assume that this has been eliminated, wiped clean from the culture due to the courageous efforts of a social movement fifty years ago would just be unintelligent.

I believe that this country could use another movement, but not a movement led by politicians such a the No Child Left Behind Act, but something real that hits at the core of our society and not an attention getting topic to please lobbies and win voters. A real movement that speaks to the people. The only problem with this is that the people of the US are so bogged down trying to keep their heads above water that there seems to be no time to consider anything else but bills, food and sleep (notice the order). Even in our work environment things are just so mundane, you go to work and all you do is work then you have a break where all you do is talk about work, then you go back to work… what is that all about!

Occasionally, you find a way to get a vacation, but the families struggle hard just to find a moment to get away. In most cases the only time one stops to think about higher virtues is on their Holy day if that! This has an effect on the people whether they know it or not. For example in Muslim countries people pray together several times a day, you may be next to a perfect stranger of different ethnic origin every single day praying to God, asking for his Protection and Guidance. This was written about recently in an article from the International Herald Tribune regarding the work ethics of Muslims. The article praises Muslim’s work ethics and attributes their success to a strong value system. A comparison of this value system and that of the West is best illustrated in a comment saying,

“In European countries, workers take a 15-minute smoking break; here we take a 15-minute prayer break,” said Ahmet Herdem, the mayor of Hacilar, a town of 20,000 people in this deeply religious and socially conservative region of Central Anatolia, which has produced some of Turkey’s best-known companies. “During this time, you are in front of God and you can ask him to help improve business and this is good for morale.” (Internation Herald Tribune)

Allah in the FlagWith all of the controversy about Islam people rarely get to see what Islam brings to the table and why people defend it in the face of those people who are trying to destroy it whether consciously or unconsciously. It is because Islam has as its primary interest Social Justice and the improvement of the quality of life for the people not just a select group. Islam is the only governing principle that I am aware of that has actually brought civility and brotherhood to typically waring parties of varying ethnicities for hundreds of years (Al-Andalus, etc.).

What other governing body has ever achieved this feat?

§ 8 Responses to I Love My Country. Does My Country Love Me?

  • nathanalan says:

    I’m sorry that you have things in your some of your days, hopefully only some, that probably make you believe, or seem to, that most Americans are prejudice against Islam and its followers, and I’m sorry that even though it is not every American the percentage is in fact far too high. It’s my opinion that many European Americans love simplicity, which you depicted well enough. “Just keeping their head above the water,” and they don’t care to swim, but just go with the flow. So to me they do not accept a religion like Islam, even the peaceful aspect of it, because it demands too much of a person and gives them no more, in their mind, than the liberal, accepting, Christian religion. *** If, in a Wisconsin town, three bears in a two week period broke into three different homes and killed four people all-together, things are done to remove all bears from the area. Right now Muslim radicals have not done enough, in my mind, to cause prejudice to the non-radical Muslims, but I do believe that there is a point where that should happen, so if I have any criticism just reading this entry is that you as a peaceful person and I assume you are Muslim, so as a peaceful Muslim, you should condemn the violent murderous destructive ways of non-peaceful Muslims, as well as superficial simple European Americans.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    Right now Muslim radicals have not done enough, in my mind, to cause prejudice to the non-radical Muslims, but I do believe that there is a point where that should happen…

    I’m sorry you feel that way… that makes us enemies we disagree on that point. Do you realize that there millions of muslims living in the West alone. Appoximately 7 million Muslims in the United States.

    so as a peaceful Muslim, you should condemn the violent murderous destructive ways of non-peaceful Muslims, as well as superficial simple European Americans.

    I am a Muslim. I follow the Qur’an and the Traditions of the Prophet (s.a.w.s.). I pray to God for guidance and I do what I must for the sake of God, My Family, Muslims and Humanity and I will condemn that which threatens the Truth, My Family, Muslims and Humanity.

    *** If, in a Wisconsin town, three bears in a two week period broke into three different homes and killed four people all-together, things are done to remove all bears from the area.

    The problem lies in the idiots that decided to build a town in a part of “Wisconsin” that the bears have been for thousands of years… But we have seen what you speak of historically… look at the Native American. They once loved this land too…

    wasalaam.

  • The kind of racism in the U.S. to which you refer is actually an extreme minority in the country today, according to careful studies in political science. We may need a movement of some sorts again, but to say there’s no social justice in this country is inaccurate. American care about their rights — just look at all the civil liberties we’re guaranteeing to Guantanamo Bay terrorists. Try to document some of your claims.

  • the bloke says:

    I was going to leave you an encouraging comment, but after reading your response to the previous commenter, I doubt you mean what you say in your post. Or, maybe I just misunderstand both the messages and attitudes expressed (by your post, the comment and your response). In which case, I shall not share my confusion any further. Have a good day.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    Ahlan DonaldDouglas…

    Thank you for visiting Wa Salaam. Your comments are thought provoking…

    The kind of racism in the U.S. to which you refer is actually an extreme minority in the country today, according to careful studies in political science.

    I’m sorry that is not true… I live in New York City and I deal with racial profiling from the Police… as we have something called “Random Searches” occuring in the city. And believe me there is nothing random about many of these searches, if you look like a Muslim you will be searched… call it what you will it makes people uncomfortable with things they cannot and should not have to change. And sends a strong message to the community. I know they try not to make it seem that way, but their efforts to conceal the profiling is for naught. As a result I travel with no bag when I am donning traditional Islamic garb, whenever I can.

    I’ve been called a terrorist in the streets… I once was getting off of an elavator in NJ and someone yelled BOMB! I ducked… until I realized they were talking about me. So please don’t tell me about political science studies…

    In addition, I never said that there was no social justice in this country… what I said was,

    “Although, I love my country, I condemn destructive forms of patriotism and nationalism that are antithetical to Social Justice and border on racism.”

    I was more or less speaking about our governments policy concerning foreign affairs, particularly in the Middle-East.

    “Try to document some of your claims.”

    I didn’t actually make a claim but I can… you can find a claim here.

    wasalaam.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    Ahlan Bloke…

    I have read your blog several times… we have exchanged conversations a few times as well and quite frankly I’m surprised at your comment… seems curt for someone who has previously had so much to say.

    I was going to leave you an encouraging comment, but after reading your response to the previous commenter, I doubt you mean what you say in your post.

    I’m curious, what was your encouraging comment? And what about the post is negated by the comment?

    In which case, I shall not share my confusion any further.

    If you are confused why would you draw a conclusion? Why not just ask? Furthermore, why leave a comment that only excuses yourself from making a comment?

    I will walk you through my position if you wish to understand… I would hate to leave you confused about something I posted.

    wasalaam.

  • ldspatriot says:

    I am pro-Muslim, anti-militant Islam. Only moderate Muslims can clean out the death cult of militant Islam. Until moderate Muslims condemn and figth militant Islam, these groups will continue to grow.

  • Any striving after God and his holiness will lead to betterment. But that is not to say that all religions see God’s holiness with the same clarity. The reason that Muslims are profiled is simple: a noticeable number of Muslims have declared war on the west, and killed thousands of people who meant them no harm. The ones who draw suspicion to moderate Muslims are the jihadis.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Love My Country. Does My Country Love Me? at SEYFETTİN.

meta

