Israel, Lebanon and The Truth

July 18, 2006 § 8 Comments

RosesweetLike most I have been observing the current conflict between Israeli and Lebanese forces and my heart is filled with a great sadness. Of course my soul aches for my Muslim brothers and sisters who are currently living in fear of injury or death to themselves, family and/or friends. I must keep ears open as I too have friends very close to the targets of Israeli attacks.

However, I would like to say that under intense circumstances such as these; circumstances that fuel fear and hatred of human beings it is also a part of human nature to look to God for a source of resolve, to call on All Powerful, Subduer to put a miraculous end to the seemingly endless bloodshed. So falling right in line with human nature I called to the One God for Guidance…

Later in the day I was moved by a Hadith that soothed my aching heart. This Hadith addressed the hurt that I was feeling and also brought me to my senses. I realized that I do not have to feel powerless, and as always the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.) knew best how we should approach struggle and particularly oppression as illustrated in this Hadith narrated by Anas:

Allah’s Apostle said, “Help your brother whether he is an oppressor or an oppressed,” A man said, “O Allah’s Apostle! I will help him if he is oppressed, but if he is an oppressor, how shall I help him?” The Prophet said, “By preventing him from oppressing (others), for that is how to help him.” (Sahih Bakhari)

Please enjoy the related audio presentation entitled, “Stand Up For The Truth” by Imam Zaid Shakir of Zaytuna Institute. audio

§ 8 Responses to Israel, Lebanon and The Truth

  • Lena says:

    Insha’Allah, I will keep your family in my dua’s. In these times, I think it is important for us to of course be praying for the protection of the Muslimeen and the oppressed in the midst of this, but we also have to remember to ask Allah to guide the oppressors, insha’Allah.

  • notapundit says:

    As a Christian I pray for a peaceful settlement of the conflict. I pray that the leaders of Israel and Hezbollah will decide that dialogue is better than violence in resolving this conflict.

    The Christian faith teaches one to love one’s enemies:

    “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies, and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your heavenly Father, for he makes his sun rise on the bad and the good, and causes rain to fall on the just and the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what recompense will you have? Do not the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet your brothers only, what is unusual about that? Do not the pagans do the same? So be perfect, just as your heavenly Father is perfect. (Matthew 5:43-48)

  • Dirty Butter says:

    As a Christian, I am praying that both sides of this conflict will find a way to settle this that does not involve the killing of innocent civilians on both sides. So many wrongs have been done to so many on both sides, only God can bring a peaceful conclusion to the mess that man has made.

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    There may have been some assumption by many of you that I posted the hadith of the Prophet (s.a.w.s.) to show exclusive support for Muslims. But those of you that know of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.) know that he looked at people as a human family and not just clans and tribes. He was quite the pioneer for engineering brotherhood among various peoples.

    With that said I would like to explain that my understanding of the above hadith is that when the Messenger of Allah makes reference to the word brother he is speaking of the human family not just the Muslim Ummah. So the help he refers to is not for Muslims only.

    wasalaam.

  • Stan LS says:

    “But those of you that know of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.) know that he looked at people as a human family”

    Jews included?

  • Abu Sahajj says:

    “But those of you that know of the Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.) know that he looked at people as a human family”

    Yes. If you want to learn more about the history and relationship of The Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.s.) and the Jews I suggest you read “Muhammad: A Biography of the Prophet… by Karen Armstrong.

  • […] Subhana Allah, Mr. Galloway basically summarized what I have been trying to get across to the readers of Wa Salaam since I wrote the first article “Israel, Lebanon and the Truth” on July 18th 2006. Surprisingly enough this article is the second most viewed article on my entire site. If you read the article you will find that it is nothing spectacular, not well written at all. So why has it been so popular? The title, it was so popular because the article was an exact match of hundreds of Google searches across the US and Europe. […]

  • R M says:

    As someone who is supporting Israel, and someone of Jewish background (not that it is important) I don’t think that fighting is the way to sort this out. Both sides have made agressive moves and both of which could be sorted without violence.
    The ceasefire recently started (by Lebanon, not hezbollah) which Israel were the first to sign, was broken today, and i think it is a sad day for both sides, as we have both lost family and friends.

    So, i want to pledge my support not directly for Israel, but to the goal of a Ceasefire that will end this suffering for everyone, leaving the way for a diplomatic resolution, that i am sure both sides (if in agreement) will stick to.

    So join with me to send our support to the families of soldiers from BOTH Hezbollah and the IDF, who are acting the wishes of their governments, NOT necessarily their own wishes, and let us be united not as people who fight each other, but people who work together to stop the innocent deaths, Whoever the cause

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Israel, Lebanon and The Truth at SEYFETTİN.

meta

